About Us


What is the District?

The BSWCD is a subdivision of state government, under the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources. Each county has their own conservation district, with their own governing Board of Commissioners.

The District is governed by a Board of Commissioners which consists of 5 members who serve a nonpartisan term. Three are the seats are elected by citizens in Berkeley County in a general election while the other two are appointed by the SC Department of Natural Resources Board. Associate Commissioners are also a part of a District team. They are non-voting advisers and are nominated and elected by the local Board.

Our Purpose

  • To be responsible to the citizens of the District in matters involving resource conservation.
  • To promote the wise and responsible use of natural resources.
  • To develop and implement programs to protect and conserve soil, water, farmland, woodland, wildlife, energy and riparian and wetland resources.
  • The District also provides technical assistance to farmers and landowners through our partners, Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

Meet the Team

Diane Edwins

Chairman & Commissioner

Troy Diel


Charlie Glover

Associate Commissioner


Roseann Bishop

Associate Commissioner

Barry Jurs

Vice Chairman & Commissioner

Phillip Habib


Marietta Hicks

Associate Commissioner

Beezie Fleming

Director of District Operations

Keith Gourdin

Treasurer & Commissioner

Larry Wyndham

Commissioner Emeritus

Archie Thompson

Associate Commissioner


Frannie Woods

Administrative Assistant

History of Conservation Districts

· In the early 1930s, along with the Great Depression, came an equally unparalleled ecological disaster known as the Dust Bowl. Huge black dust storms that stretched across the nation blotted out the sun and swallowed the countryside.

· 1933 – Hugh Hammond Bennett helped establish the Soil Erosion Service in the Department of the Interior and became its Director.

· 1935 – Soil Conservation Act – H.H. Bennett became the First Chief of the Soil Conservation Service.

· Roosevelt and Congress realized that only active, voluntary support from landowners would guarantee the success of conservation work on private land.

· The idea of soil and water conservation districts was born.

· 1937 – President Roosevelt wrote the governors of all the States recommending legislation that would allow local landowners to form soil conservation districts.

• 1937 – FDR sent model district legislation to governors. • 1937 – South Carolina passed the SC Conservation Districts Law, enabling each county to form their own Conservation District.

• 1943- Berkeley District was founded.

• 2017 – Conservation Districts purpose to develop and implement programs to protect and conserve soil, water, farmland, woodland, wildlife, energy and riparian and wetland resources, meeting the unique needs of their individual counties.

Want more information?

Would like more information about Berkeley County Soil and Water Conservation District?

Contact Us